a void’s longing ; { pragma & the afterlife }

a-voids-longing

Our first entry for this month’s “Heart” theme, this poem was inspired by the prompt “Put on your favourite love song/playlist, and write whatever comes to mind.”

{ pragma & the afterlife }

what have I done to deserve you?

in which life did I exude karmic goodness;

which omniscient behemoth pitied our

hamartian, dying existence and said,

「 upon you, I will bestow a sun 」 ?

what have you done to love me?

in which life did you sin so bitterly, so purely;

which stygian demon whisked you here

into the carbonesque void of my longing, saying,

「 I curse thee with the affliction of ardor 」 ?

what have we done to stand here,

my sunlight, my other?

this life was surely given to me to protect you;

this life, so that I may craft our world for you;

in this life, for certain, I’ll murmur into you,

「 my love, you are holding my heart 」 .


For more works by Kari H., visit her writing blog at http://aoirie.wordpress.com!

Leave a comment